A spam scam??
Average Reading Time: about a minute.
Link Builder Just sent me this e-mail:
“…I discovered guydickinson.com in Google, my favorite search engine. I am requesting that you create a link from guydickinson.com to my client’s web site if you feel that their content is in some way related or complements your site. In exchange, I’ll post a link from their site to yours.
Exchanging links will help bring in more business for both your web site and my client’s. An added benefit is increased search engine traffic because the search engines rank sites higher that have a good number of relevant links.
This is not a free-for-all link exchange, I don’t waste my time with them and you shouldn’t either. I am only linking to related web sites so that all my links are relevant to my site.
I would like to send you my client’s web address, so that you can review their site. My client is a leader in knowledge management enabling businesses to become more intelligent by delivering knowledge and expertise to the entire enterprise on demand.
Please let me know if you are interested in exchanging links. I’ll send you more details once I hear back from you.
Looking forward to your reply.
Sincerely,
Sabrina M Brighthaupt
sabrinambrighthaupt@link-builder.com
http://www.link-builder.com
P.S. If for any reason you don’t want me to contact again, just email me and let me know…”
Hmm, smells like spam, doesn’t quite look like spam (well not the ‘enhancing’ bits of my body type spam). I’m trying to work out their business model – they must charge clients to increase relevancy by googlewhacking – either way I don’t think I’ll bother to reply. Anyone think any different?
